The GAA Museum was established to commemorate, recognise and celebrate the GAA’s enormous contribution to Irish sporting, cultural and social life since its foundation in 1884. Located underneath the Cusack Stand of Croke Park, GAA headquarters, the museum is open daily throughout the year.
The museum traces the birth and growth of the GAA at home and abroad and its unique role in the national movement and cultural revival in Ireland. The museum houses a vast collection, including hurleys, jerseys, trophies, medals, programmes, publications and banners that illustrate the development of Gaelic games from ancient times to the present day.
The GAA Museum was first opened in September 1998 and in 2010 unveiled an exciting refurbishment which includes a new Café, temporary exhibition space, updated match footage, a new interactive games area and a magnificent new trophy display.
The revamped GAA Museum was officially launched in April 2010 in the presence of GAA stars including footballers Sean Kavanagh (Tyrone) and Kieron Donaghy (Kerry) and Cork hurler Aisaike Ó hAilpín.